top of page
Image by Billy Huynh
  • Sylvia Rose

Writing Process: Write an Online Novel

Updated: Oct 23, 2023

Here's how I write a novel. Nothing is cast in stone. For manuscript writing I use Apache OpenOffice Writer, an open-source free version of Microsoft Word, which can save work in Word doc formats and more.


1. Title


It's a good idea to use a working title if the book isn't yet named. Many working titles become final titles. Or, the title will fall into place while crafting the novel. Less often it hits with a burst of illumination while you're in the bath.


See also:


The title needs to say something about the book. If not, the book cover image should clearly show what the reader can expect. More than anything, a title should get attention.


Never fear if the title is elusive. It can always be changed, just like character names. The famous Margaret Mitchell novel Gone With the Wind was initially called "Tomorrow is Another Day," and charismatic heroine Scarlett O'Hara was named Pansy.



2. Word Count


How many words should you write? The average novel is between 80,000 and 90,000 words. Past that, you're writing an epic. A short novel is about 60,000 words.


Word count for a novelette or novella is flexible. A novelette can be 10,000 words or more. A short story, up to 10,000 words. That's a long short story. Word count for a novella runs between 20,000 and 60,000. These are only guidelines. Adapt as needed.


3. Preamble Pages


Before the main story I always add these pages. They help define the book. In a new text document in OpenOffice I write out the Title Page, including book title, author name, year of publication, edition number if necessary and my distributor. Looks kind of like this:


Hotel of Horror


Copyright 2023 Sylvia Rose, Smashwords Edition

all rights reserved


Distributed by Smashwords


Reproduction of this work in whole or in part in any manner without express written consent is prohibited



... centered, and leave 2-3 inches of space above the first line.


On the next page I draft the TOC, including 'table of contents' at top; and title, chapters, about the author, anything to be linked. Don't bother hooking up links now because they'll be stripped out in later formatting.


After that, on a new page, I write a Foreword or Prologue, covering basics or background of the novel. A Foreword isn't necessary but it helps the author focus. define and sort out priorities, as well as giving some insight into the mood or environment of the work. After editing, the Foreword is short, succinct and should draw the reader into the tale. Before editing it's likely a mess. No worries.





New page, Chapter One begins. All my chapter headings are 2 - 3 inches down the page. If the book has chapters it's easiest to name them "Chapter One", "Chapter Two" etc because online book publishing involves various formats, and simple is better. However they can be called anything as long as they're properly formatted.


Later for that.


This basic preparation helps me get further into the story and establishes loose parameters. Words flow better. I used to hate restrictions but never actually finished a novel. Now I love the feeling of ambition, aptitude and new channels of creativity inspired by boundaries.


See also:


3. First Draft


The first draft of the novel I write after the preamble pages, without adding any more chapter headings yet. The first draft will be one long body of work. I start slowly, sometimes writing only a paragraph a day. Soon I'm up to a comfortable 2,000 words, and by the end of the novel I write 5,000 words a day or more.


Q. How many words per day should you write?

A. As many as you want.


I'm an intuitive writer which means I don't plan ahead much. It's good to have a rough idea of the plot but it can change as the story evolves. Other authors have arcs and charts and cross-references and prefer to plan.



Personally I like to do a lot of research, have a strong understanding of my characters and enjoy staring at walls while my brain puzzles it out. Different writers work different ways and it's important to find the best way for you.


Join me on:


It's a trap to obsess about the first draft. Nothing is done that can't be changed. Catch the rhythm and go. I find if I have an approximate wordage in mind, the draft will turn out about that length. It's important to set a limit, a deadline or a word count because creativity and mind power can do amazing things under limitations. And without an end count, some authors write endlessly.


See also:


4. Edit Edit Edit


For me, editing is where magic happens. Again the process is so different across individual writers. If an author absolutely hates editing it's best to hire someone reliable. If an author hates editing but is a social recluse like me, it may be easier to learn to edit. Personally I love editing.


Writing non-fiction and web content really built up my self-editing skills. I've heartlessly ripped out pages, characters and plot deviations. Many times it hurts; but, as we know, Nature abhors a vacuum. The result tightens up and follows an inner logic. Ideas gel and new words blossom.





I do 3-5 edits on a novel. Each one smooths out the story a little more. I know the end has come because there's a happy little buzz in the cockles of my soul. As Janis Joplin sang, "You know you got it, babe, if it makes you feel good."


5. Format


Again, some authors work best with professional formatters and some can easily DIY. My distributor, Smashwords, has copious information about formatting for online publishing on their site. Authors can also hire approved professional formatters on the site.


Keep it simple. Avoid using the enter key to make spaces, and format the whole paragraph instead. Otherwise it can look choppy and broken up on other devices.



A lot of writers want to publish on Amazon. I'm not qualified to write about that because I never have and never will publish my books on Amazon.


Book covers are also easy to make for online publishing, and I'll write about that in a later post. Thanks for reading. Happy writing!


See also:




 


26 views

Recent Posts

See All

copyright Sylvia Rose 2024

bottom of page